My Posts on Someone Else's Site
For those of you more experienced in the blogosphere than myself, I need a question answered. I ran across a site called "www.making-me-money.com." Basically it has a pant-load of Google AdSense on there with MY rss feed and one other blog's feed acting as the posts. There is however a link to The Big Bald Blog in the blogroll.
From what I have read, I am assuming that this is "feed scraping" site. I do have my FeedBurner feed set to "partial" content so it's not looking the best.
My question: Is this something I should be concerned about? I don't think so, but then again, I am only the 5th smartest person on the planet.
Your thoughts?
 












 









9 Comments:
I would send an e-mail asking them to cease and desist. If they don't, you can contact their isp directly.
It happens all the time. While there is not much you can do about it short of becoming a detective and shutting them down I'm sure there is someone who is gonna tell you how much it will hurt your blog and blah blah blah. Toss a copyright in your rss feed to make it harder for the scrapers.
What I don't understand is how someone like that benefits, I mean when I see a blog full of obvious crap and tons of ads I just skip to the next one.
@jodith - Yep did that. I really don't expect a response
@Ben - I don't know what good it does either. Evidently they are making SOME money or they wouldn't be doing it. I am going to put the copyright in the feed. I guess the bigger you get the more you have to deal with this stuff. I didn't have any spammy comments or scraping when no one was reading the blog. LOL
The scrapers make money by having ads on their sites. Lots of times they are just waiting to unload them and since scraping costs them nothing, they do it.
You should be glad they even linked back. I've had dozens of my articles scraped and there's really no use fighting them. I'm actually glad for the ones that don't post my entire article and link back because there are so many more who just steal my content and make it look like theirs. Those are the ones that I go after!
@entrepreneur - Thanks for info! I figured that was the case. And yes, I did get a back link out of it. In fact, I discovered it by looking at my Technorati page.
The crazy thing is Big Pops works with the 3rd smartest guy on the planet
These scrapper sites in my opinion just take up time, and if you have your post ping set right, the powers that be will know who the original poster was. If you also notice that they receive very little traffic, simply because there is no one manning the site. I just dont let their backlinks onto my blog, no traffic from my site going to theirs.
That is really bad. You should report this to Adsense and get this blogger banned! What an idiot!
Sorry - no answers, but I have a question.
Who are the other 4 smartest people?
Post a Comment
Links to this post:
Create a Link
<< Home